Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (3)

"Isn't ravish a great word? I've never been ravished in my life but it sounds like great fun. James, my fiance, isn't the ravishing type. He'd be too worried that his boss might find out and his chances of promotion would be scuppered, which is fair enough I suppose; one of us has to be sensible. But wouldn't it be so fantastic to be so irresistible that your man can't control himself?"

-- Ruth Saberton, Katy Carter Wants a Hero, pp. 2-3.

Blog-Writer's Block

Life has been hectic lately, meaning I have shamefully misplaced my blogging time with sunshine, friends, a photograph shoot, and cookies. Well, not completely.


I've had blog-writer's block. I've read (and read and read), but not reviewed. Sorry! While I've been silent I have popped around to some of your blogs and I love what I've seen - so many interesting books are out and about right now. Apparently I read a lot more blogs while I have writer's block :P

I think it's high time I begin writing again. No more silence, please!

Monday, May 23, 2011

The May Long

Happy Victoria Day!

Queen Victoria, the 'Mother of Canadian Confederation' - July 1, 1867.
To my fellow Canadians - I hope you all enjoy the May Long :)

~ photo taken @ Buckingham Palace, May 2011 ~

Sunday, May 22, 2011

Lazy Sunday (1)


It is the last half hour of Sunday and I have one last meme. Franny, the creator of the wonderful Mind Reader, has asked me to participate in her Lazy Sunday. Well, here I go!

Getting to Know YOU (2)

Lime Flowers

Sweet Sunday Yummy Lit Review:
Lime Flowers

Lime : Tart. Vitamin C. Antioxidant. Electric green. Aromatherapy ingredient. Excellent flavour for potato chips. Robbie Williams' description of the English.

It was only a few hours ago that I decided to add 'a main ingredient in delicious and crisp cookies' to this fruit's definition.

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

What I'm Loving Wednesday!

You can participate here.

1. I'm loving that in 24 days E will be in my hometown... I have a feeling these WILW posts will be very countdown driven over the next few weeks ;)

2. I'm loving Sara Haze's song, Lovely. A beautiful, beautiful song with lyrics that we all need to hear every once in awhile.

Picture Me Wednesday - 2011 Week 15

If I could go anywhere right now......... I'd go here:

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (2)

"He was dressed in an old leather jerkin and breeches of worn brown cloth, his hair was severely receded on top but long at the back, leaving his large forehead bare, and his face was pitted with the marks of pox; he might have been my own age or he might have been fifty, but the most striking aspect of his appearance was that he had no ears. Ugly welts of scar tissue surrounded the holes where they would once have been, betraying the fact that he had at one time been brought to justice as a petty criminal. He continued to watch me with a cool, level gaze in which I could discern no malice, rather a kind of mocking curiosity."

Page 157 - Parris, S. J. Heresy.

Monday, May 16, 2011

A Weekend With Mr. Darcy

I finished reading A Weekend with Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly a few weeks ago. The book's jacket attests to it being a 'joyous' and 'terrific' read. It was not mistaken. Connelly weaves a tale that is engaging, fast paced, funny, unexpected, and memorable - exactly as a contemporary work of fiction should be.

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy portrays both the romantic and professional lives of a group of women attending a Jane Austen conference in the twenty-first century. Connelly's work asks the question that many modern (and book loving) women have asked - where are the heroic, chivalrous, stoic, and romantic men in today's society? Do men with nineteenth century principles exist? Can we expect to find our very own Mr. Darcy?

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Getting to Know YOU

I've seen MannLand5's link-up over the last few weeks... Today, I give it a shot :)

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Sweet Sunday's Yummy Lit Review:
Chocolate Chip Muffins

While I was in Europe I had a few food cravings.

North American-style pancakes with maple syrup?
Popcorn?
Booster Juice smoothies?

Yep, I'm guilty. I've been craving all of these dishes over the last few weeks.

It wasn't long after I managed to score a pancake breakfast with E in London that I started to crave a new breakfast meal. Homemade chocolate chip muffins.

Friday, May 13, 2011

Hops & Follows

Well, it's Friday... which means Book Blogger Hop and Follow Friday!

Thank you for visiting. Be sure to leave a comment and/or follow and I'll definitely hop on over to your blog, too!

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

What I'm Loving Wednesday!

You can participate here.

Let me begin by saying that I'm not loving that I'm home after a five week stay in England. It is nice to get back to a life of normalacy... but I left a very important person on the other side of the world.

So, what am I loving?

1.


This Youtube video is super adorable. The pup so reminds me of my own furry babies. I can only guess how many times I have hit 'replay' since a Facebook friend posted it yesterday afternoon.


2. That airport goodbyes are always followed by a new countdown. A few days ago I said goodbye to E in London. In just 28 days I'll be greeting him at my airport's arrivals area. This is our shortest time spent apart yet, and I am so so thankful!

Picture Me Wednesday - 2011 Week 14


E and I visited Poland in early April. I had no idea what to expect when we entered this country. Most of our time was spent in Krakow, Poland's former capital. It's a beautiful (and very old) city peppered with cobblestones, narrow streets, 14th century buildings, and brightly coloured walls.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (1)


"It's a strange game, love, she thought, and nine times out of ten it's nothing to do with love at all. It's to do with satisfying men's lust, and lust for conquest, and from now on she would play the game to her advantage, not theirs."

Page 74 - Annie Wilkinson, No Price Too High.

The Wedding

I'll admit that I have taken a long time to write about the wedding... I wasn't really in one place shortly after April 29th. I wanted to see the wedding's aftermath in England. I also wanted to see how my North American hometown had reacted to the wedding.

Monday, May 9, 2011

I'm Home

I'm home!

It's 1AM where I am, but 9AM in England.... let's just say I'm wide awake and completely and utterly lost in the time zone change.

So, how was the trip? Fantastic. I didn't want to leave. And, you'll be pleased to know, I acquired a huuuuuuge stack of new books.

Okay, maybe not that huge... but I do have a dozen new and shiny covers sitting on my table.

Sunday, May 8, 2011

The Flea

I love poetry. I may randomly quote famous lines of English literature and I absolutely adore Sir Thomas Wyatt's "Whoso List to Hunt."

John Donne is another one of my favourite poets. So many of his poems stand out to me. Beautiful tales of love and comedic stories of manipulation in relationships abound in Donne's writing. "The Flea" is one of his comical relationship tales.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Picture Me Wednesday - 2011 Week 13


As you may know, I've been in the UK for awhile now. Due to differences in power wattage (and not wanting to fry my electronic devices), I haven't been able to upload photos. But, I'll soon be trading the Atlantic Ocean for my hometown waters of the Pacific (pictured here). This photo reminds me of my oh-so-far-away home.

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Chocolate Chip Cookies


Sweet Sunday's Yummy Lit Review:
Chocolate Chip Cookies

A few months ago I was asked to make a batch of classic chocolate chip cookies for JJ. I quickly donned my apron, tied my hair back, pulled up my sleeves, and got to work.

What can I say? You say bake, and I'll ask how much.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...