Thursday, June 30, 2011

Inside Hitler's Bunker

Many know Adolf Hitler spent the last few months of his life in a bunker underneath the Reich Chancellery in Berlin. But, little is known of what happened in the bunker, now sealed off to the public. Joachim Fest, a Berliner himself, examines life in the Fuhrerbunker during late April and early May 1945.

Fest's Inside Hitler's Bunker: The Last Days of the Third Reich provides an account of the defeat of National Socialist Germany in May 1945. Hitler's actions, decisions, and behaviour from within his bunker are examined in Fest's work. Fest also chronicles German citizens' and military officials' reactions to the advancing Soviet troops and fall of the Third Reich.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Thank You!

A few weeks ago I was presented with "The Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award" from McGuffy's Reader. Thank you so much, McGruffy!

So, why has it taken me so long to respond to this honour? To be blunt, life has been hectic - lots of work and E now in Canada means that I am a busy and *very* happy lady.

The blogosphere and it's corresponding award community have ground rules for awards. Nominate 15 other bloggers and share 7 random facts about yourself. I know I'm cheating the game, but instead I would sincerely like to say thank you.

Thank you all for sticking through a somewhat down time on the blog. I'm sorry for ignoring it just a little (okay, maybe a bit more than a little). There are plenty of written reviews waiting to be posted online. I may be slow on the comment front, but I sincerely appreciate (and love reading!) each and every comment (and award ;) hehe) that is left on my cyber-doorstep.

Thank you.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

The Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England

Next month you are travelling to England. Fourteenth century England at that. What do you need to know? What are the laws? What should you expect to eat, do, and wear on your stay?

How will you experience medieval England?

This is a central question in Ian Mortimer's The Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century. Mortimor creates a very unique non-fiction history text through writing the past as if it were the present.

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Heresy

Murder. Religion. Heresy.

Heresy, a historical thriller written by S.J. Parris, portrays a series of murders at Oxford University during the 1580s. Parris utilizes the character of an ex-Catholic monk, Giordano Bruno, to uncover suspicious and brutal deaths at Oxford. In doing so, Parris examines tensions between Catholicism, Protestantism, and intellectual modes of thought in Elizabethan England.

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Picture Me Wednesday - 2011 Week 19

Photo taken @ York, England.

I'm the graduate this afternoon!
I've waited a long, long time... but finally *today* is the day.
Yayy!

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Beautiful Artifacts, Heartbreaking Relics

I received my first e-mail from an author requesting a book review in late March. As the writer of a little-known blog I was shocked to discover that any author would offer up their book for my criticism.

I was unsure about performing the review. What if I didn't like the book? The author suddenly became a person and perhaps, because of that, I wondered if I would be able to write a honest review. I have brutally pointed out the flaws in literature in the past. I hoped to be able to do the same when the author became more than words in a book. When I was greeted with a format (short stories) and style (magic realist) that I do not frequently pursue, I agreed to the task.

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Picture Me Wednesday - 2011 Week 17

Sometimes it's the little things that make you laugh.

What I'm Loving Wednesday!

You can participate here.

No Price Too High

Last month I embarked on a 9.5 hour plane ride home from England. Around a hour into the flight, we were informed that there was a problem with the film feed. Thankfully I had one book in my hand and another twelve in my carry-on.

Did I say I was a book hoarder?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...