Friday, September 28, 2012

Moyes' Interview

Above is Jojo Moyes' discussion of her work Me Before You at the Richard and Judy Book Club 2012 hosted by WHSmith, a bookshop in the UK.  I absolutely loved this book and I think it's topic is incredibly pertinent in today's society - this clip is worth a listen.

The Richard and Judy Book Club 2012 have conducted interviews with all of the authors from this years reading list.  Their other interviews can be found on YouTube by clicking here.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

The Angel's Game

Photo taken by Ms. C.  

I am the first to admit that I do not quite understand Carlos Ruiz Zafon's The Angel's Game.  The novel centers around David Martin, a conflicted writer, and a series of spooky, sinister events - that I can assure you is correct.  However, much of the plot has left me unsure of what truly happened.

Me Before You

Photo taken by Ms. C. 
Jojo Moyes has often been labelled a chick-lit writer.  However, I think she is anything but the producer of fluffy, inconsequential romances.  Moyes does write love stories... but her tales are able to combine controversial topics, emotion, hilarity, and intense drama.

Moyes explores the everyday life of individuals with severe physical disabilities within her work Me Before You.  The story centers around Will, a quadriplegic young man who was once highly active, and his budding relationship with Lou, his caretaker.  Readers are introduced to each character before they meet - thus we are able to view Will as a young athletic business man at the top of his world and Lou as a recently laid of cafe employee supporting her parents and sister on minimum wage.  Moyes does an excellent job of developing the characters and portraying the tensions in each one's life which ultimately bring them together.

Monday, September 17, 2012

It belongs to P.F. Sloan

Rumer: P.F. Sloan

Perhaps its Library/Archival school... but all I can think of is copyright issues when I hear this song.  Pretty fitting for mid-September, I think.

* The title for this post was extracted from the lyrics of Rumer's P.F. Sloan.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Twilight: New Moon

Awhile back I read and reviewed the first installment of Twilight (you can read it here).  I found the first book so addictive that I had to borrow K's copy of New Moon a few weeks later.

Monday, September 10, 2012

That smile on your face like summer

Matchbox Twenty: Overjoyed
Matchbox Twenty's latest CD, North, was released last week. I fell in love with this song over the last few days and just stumbled across its very own music video. The band and director Ben Boutwell have created such a cute story.

* Post title extracted from the lyrics of Matchbox Twenty's (2012) Overjoyed.

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Why Have Kids? Preview

Jessica Valenti's Why Have Kids? was released earlier this week.  I eagerly await to read this book though I am not quite sure when I will manage to find time amid university deadlines.  However, I did find a snazzy little video preview of the main questions and premises within Valenti's latest work.  Check it out below. 

What do you think?

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Picture Me Wednesday - Heart

Photo taken by Ms. C. 
My iPod Touch sock =) 
It comes with me everywhere now that I am commuting all the time.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Teaser Tuesday - The Angel's Game

Photo taken by Ms. C. 

"Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.  In this place, books no longer remembered by anyone, books that are lost in time, live forever, waiting for the day when they will reach a new reader's hands, a new spirit..."
- Carlos Ruiz Zafron - The Angel's Game (2009, p. 430).

You can participate at Should Be Reading's Teaser Tuesday by clicking here.

Monday, September 3, 2012

A Secret in an Envelope...

The Civil Wars: 20 Years

I first heard this band and song in England earlier this summer.  Perhaps I feel a bit nostalgic as summer is now mere hours from being officially over... but I swear I can feel myself being transported to Nottingham when I close my eyes and listen to the lyrics.

Hope you all enjoy the last official day of summer and have a lovely Labour Day!  
I'm back to uni tomorrow.   

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Trailer - The Girl You Left Behind

I absolutely love Jojo Moyes and cannot wait to read her next book, The Girl You Left Behind. Check out the trailer below - sounds good, no?  It comes out 27 September 2012!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...